Best of 2013

2013?  Ahh. I can’t remember how many times I’ve said “2013 is such a bitch” or “I want to die” this year. This has been the toughest year ever. I think the main reason for this is all the stress and pressure I get from school since I only have a few terms left before I finally graduate college. Requirements,  paperwork, activities, deadlines everywhere. I think I also forgot the definitions of fun and sleep, or what it feels like. I’m not even exaggerating. I almost broke down a couple of times this year. I have been way too exhausted, stressed, and depressed. In short, 2013 is definitely not my year.

But then, while I was finalizing one of my final requirements this term, I decided to scroll down my Facebook profile (Well, I needed a short break). Then I realized, 2013 is not that terrible at all (But it’s still bad). I saw photos from months ago and remembered some of the good things that happened this year. Then I decided to compile the photos and summarize them ’cause I think it’s a good idea, not only for this blog, but also to remind myself of the good things also. So here goes.

1. 19th Birthday

bday3

bday5My college best friends surprised me on my 19th birthday. They caught me off guard. We had an amazing time at the rooftop of our condo. They got me amazing gifts and 2 Jordan standees. Loved the pool and board games that we played. The food that my parents bought were also some of my favorites. Sbarro pizza & baked ziti and Mary Grace Mango Bene cake. (My dad is not in the photo ’cause he’s the one who took it) And I also got sweet birthday tweets from some of my fave band dudes AND I got enough points to score a signed Chris Wallace CD! (Link to my birthday blog)

2. DLSU University Week

univ1

univ3

univ5

univ4

Our university celebrates its university week every February. Although I kinda have fun every university week (mostly ’cause of the school bazaar lol), I think this is the first time that I really enjoyed it! I mean look at our school, it’s like a carnival! And the concert was awesome! As far as I remember I stayed in school until like midnight.

3. Demi Lovato – Live in Manila

demi1

demi2

demidemi

I still can’t believe that I saw my hero to flesh. She was stunning on stage. Such an amazing performer. She hit the high notes perfectly (especially that of her song Heart Attack). And I love how she told the bouncers “Yo, what are you doing? My fans can stand up if they want to.” More info here

4. APO110 Graduation Ball

apolloooooooo

apollllllo

I have to admit that this wasn’t the best party but because of the company of my college best friends, I still enjoyed the night.

5. So Undercover

SU1

SU2

Watched the movie of one of my idols with two of my favorite fangirls, Iza and Katty! Really enjoyed watching this not only because the movie was great but also we get the inside jokes in the movie haha.

6. Summer 2013

summer2

summer1

summer3

summerrrrrrr

7. Circuit Fest

cffffThis is one of the best concerts ever. The line up was perfect. And I never thought I’d still get the chance to see one of my all time fave, Allstar Weekend, before they breakup and start a new band. (Concert blogpost)

allstar

Meet & Greet photo with Allstar Weekend; with my new friend Francine. Taken backstage while We Are The In Crowd was playing during the show. (L-R: Brent Schneiders, Dillon Anderson, Zach Porter, Michael Martinez, Cameron Quiseng)

byebye

Meet & Greet photo with Before You Exit. Taken a day before the show at Greenbelt Park. Some of the other bands – Yellowcard, Mayday Parade, This Century – were also here. The rest were at Market Market. (L-R: Toby McDonough, Riley McDonough, Connor McDonough)

waticcc

With 4/5 of We Are The In Crowd at the hotel lobby (Taylor Jardine, Mike Ferri, Cameron Hurley, Jordan Eckes).

cfcfcf

With Thomas Silvers and Braiden Wood of Before You Exit (above), and Sean Mackin of Yellowcard at the hotel lobby. We also saw Cameron Leahy and his bandmates from The Downtown Fiction but we weren’t able to take photos with them because of the bodyguards.

mayday

With 3/5 of Mayday Parade after their presscon. (Alex Garcia, Derek Sanders, Brooks Betts)

brentmikey

With Brent and Mikey of Allstar Weekend. Photos taken during Yellowcard’s set.

Some more photos of the show:

adub

tc

cf1

cf2

8. Really cool professors

sirs

This year also, I had 2 really cool professors that I really really love! On the left is Dr. Brian Gozun, my professor in Operations Management. The time that he was my prof, he was also the Dean of the College of Business. On the right is Sir Steve Chow, my professor in Entrepreneurial Psychology.

9. Entrepreneurship

sparc1

proddd

sparc3

market testing

The practicum groups under DLSU’s Entrepreneurship program had their Product Launching (followed by Market Testing) in their BUSPLA2 (Business Planning 2) course. Our group went through a lot of shizz but it paid off 🙂

sparc5

While busy with the product launching, we had to revise our business plan and that was very very exhausting. But I’m glad ’cause we got the highest (or was it second highest) score!

best pract

Our group also won “Best Practicum Group” in terms of peso sales. We were able to sell a lot during the market testing. Unbelievable.

defense

Here’s a picture of our group with Sir Jyro Triviño (above) who was supposedly our practicum adviser, and with Dr. Emilina Sarreal who was our prof from BUSOPP2 to BUSPLA2 and is not our practicum adviser

sparccc

This is me and Lea after our defense

bplan

Hardbound copy of our revised and final business plan. Finally!

10. Supply Chain Management class

suppman3

suppman2

suppman1

I also enjoyed my SUPPMAN class. We went to different offices and manufacturing plants of different companies and we learned lots of things!

11. JPIA: FAME

fame

famee

12. Baguio with Fam

famm1

Fetched my big brother from the airport! Gonna be with him for one month after not seeing him for more than a year!

famm2

Family photo at Meralco Summer Houses in Baguio City. We stayed here with the family of my bro’s new wife (our cousins and other family visited also) during my very short term break.

mariel

Also, got to spend time with this fangirl, Mariel, who’s like a sister to me!

13. Shane Filan (former Westlife) – Live in Manila

shane1

shane2

shane4

shane3

12. DLSU Champions / Animo Night

dlsuchamp

The DLSU Green Archers won the championship!!

animoooo

animooo

Animo Night at the Henry Sy Grounds!

13. Tahanan Outreach Project & Services

tops

tahanan

As part of our practicum group’s CSR activity, we visited TOPS in Sta. Ana(?) and had some activities with these wonderful kids!

14. Lighting of the Lasallian Christmas Tree

dlsuxmas

15. Goodbye, 2nd term

plato

Sleep-deprived Entrep students celebrating temporary freedom

16. Temporary escape from reality

lu1

 

lu2

 

lu9

Spend a few days in La Union (San Fernando and Bauang). It’s not really the Christmas getaway that I wanted but I’m just so happy to be away from Manila and away from reality for just a while.

17. Bonding with my fave relatives at Baby AC’s Christening

lu10

lu5

lu7

 

lu8

lu3

lu11

 

Some photos at the church and at the resort.

Goodbye, 2013

About Thea Gertrude

Fangirl who loves to travel

Leave a Reply

