You Showed Me What I Couldn’t Find

This blog post is dedicated to one of my inspirations who recently celebrated her 20th birthday, Demetria Devonne Lovato. This beautiful lady changed my life for the better through her music.

Her song “Work Of Art” which is featured on the soundtrack of her show Sonny With A Chance is one of my anthems. This song mainly motivated me to chase my dreams no matter what the odds are. Sometimes, I get discouraged because of things, but this song keeps me going.

“Every day is like a blank canvas. You know you can paint it any way you want it. You can draw black clouds. You can make the sunshine. Color it in rainbow or use black and white.”

“Every night’s like looking at a dark screen. You’re never too young or too old to dream. You can make a fantasy into a reality ’cause you’re creating your own masterpiece.”

Another song featured on the soundtrack, “Me, Myself & Time” helped me get through my first dark phase in college. I had problems adjusting to a completely different environment. I got depressed and I cried a lot of times. But I kept on praying for things to get better. Then one day, I just saw this video on YouTube, and it kinda picked me up and somehow infected me with positivity. After a while, everything was fine 🙂

“I can make the rain stop if I wanna, just by my attitude. I can take my laptop, record a snapshot, and change your point of view. I just entered this brand new world and I’m so open-hearted. I know I’ve got a long way to go but I’m just getting started.”

“And I know everything will be fine with me, myself, and time.”

Believe In Me” is the track from her debut album Don’t Forget that struck me the most. During the time I first heard it, I can completely relate to the lyrics, especially the first part.

“I’m losing myself trying to compete with everyone else instead of just being me. Don’t know where to turn. I’ve been stuck in this routine. I need to change my ways instead of always being weak.”

At first it sounds quite negative but then at the last part it goes something like:

“I’m quickly finding out, I’m not about to breakdown. Not today.”

“Now I believe in me”

Her song “Gift Of A Friend” reminded me of the importance of friendship. There maybe moments in life wherein we think we can do things alone, or our life would be so much better if we just stay away from the others, or something like that. But in the end, we’ll realize that we NEED friends. This song is featured on Tinkerbell and The Lost Treasure OST but is also included in her second album Here We Go Again.

“Sometimes you think you’ll be fine by yourself ’cause a dream is a wish that you make all alone. It’s easy to feel like you don’t need help but it’s harder to walk on your own. You’ll change inside when you realize… The world comes to life and everything’s bright from beginning to end when you have a friend by your side that helps you to find the beauty you are, when you open your heart and believe in the gift of a friend.”

I was inspired the first time I heard This Is Me years ago, but back then I wasn’t really moved  by it compared to just recently when I tried to discover and get to know myself even more.

“I’ve always been the kind of girl that hid my face. So afraid to tell the world what I’ve got to say. But I have this dream, bright inside of me. I’m gonna let it show. It’s time to let you know. This is real. This is me. I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be now. Gonna let the light shine on me. Now I found who I am, there’s no way to hold it in. No more hiding who I wanna be. This is me.”

Skyscraper – one of her recent singles from her latest album Unbroken. Honestly, this song didn’t really directly affect me but I must say that this is a very inspiring song.

“You can take everything I have. You can break everything I am like I’m made of glass, like I’m made of paper. Go on and try to tear me down. I will be rising from the ground like a skyscraper.”

I would also like to mention how amazed I am by her voice and how she performs on stage! Fingers crossed for a concert in Manila soon! Love you Demi!

(credits to the co-writers of her songs too!)

Blog Title inspired by the song Two Worlds Collide – by Demi Lovato

She was given the world
So much that she couldn’t see
And she needed someone to show her,
Who she could be.
And she tried to survive
Wearing her heart on her sleeve
But I needed you to believe

You had your dreams, I had mine.
You had your fears, I was fine.
You showed me what I couldn’t find,
When two different worlds collide.

She was scared of it all, watching from far away.
She was given a role, never knew just when to play.
And she tried to survive
Living her life on her own
Always afraid of the throne
But you’ve given me strength to find home.

You had your dreams, I had mine.
You had your fears, I was fine.
You showed me what I couldn’t find,
When two different worlds collide.

She was scared
Unprepared.
Lost in the dark.
Falling Apart,
I can survive,
With you by my side.
We’re gonna be alright.
This is what happens when two worlds collide.

You had your dreams, I had mine.
You had your fears, I was fine.
You show me what I couldn’t find,
When two different worlds collide.

You had your dreams, I had mine.
You had your fears, I was fine.
You showed me what I couldn’t find,
When two different worlds collide.
When two different worlds collide.

About Thea Gertrude

Fangirl who loves to travel

Leave a Reply

