Song of the Week: Journey To The End Of My Life

I would describe this song as one of my all-time favorites. The lyrics are just amazing and I can somehow relate to it. When I go to bed, most of the time I think about lots of stuff first before sleeping. I think that’s the reason, aside from the song being catchy, why I fell in love with it. This song is not my top favorite from Allstar Weekend‘s album Suddenly Yours but the lyrics just basically get to me.

Lyrics:

Every night I go to bed
And take a trip inside my head
And I wonder exactly what my purpose is
Do I live to see one hundred?
Am I rich?
Am I poor?
What’s the score?
I don’t wanna be surprised

I wanna take a journey to the end of my life
‘Cause I just wanna see what it’s like
Am I loved?
Am I hated?
In your face or understated?
How old will I be when I die?
Do I turn out alright?

Is my fate up to me
Or is it run by a computer?
Will my kids go to school or stay at home?
In the future
Is there peace?
Is there war?
What’s the score?
I don’t wanna be suprised

I wanna take a journey to the end of my life
‘Cause I just wanna see what it’s like
Am I loved?
Am I hated?
In your face
Or understated?
How old will I be when I die?
Do I turn out alright?

I just wanna see what goes on
The chance to put it right before it goes wrong
Certain things I say that I regret
And erase them all
Erase them all
Save my friends so they don’t get hurt
Get the mustard stain off my favorite shirt
Have more vision than a crystal ball
A crystal ball
A crystal ball

I don’t wanna be surprised
I wanna take a journey to the end of my life
‘Cause I just wanna see what it’s like

I wanna take a journey to the end of my life
‘Cause I just wanna see what it’s like
Am I loved?
Am I hated?
In your face
Or understated?
How old will I be when I die?
Do I turn out alright?

About Thea Gertrude

Fangirl who loves to travel

Leave a Reply

