Swedish Band Got Me Fallin’ In Love

Last March 19, Monday, at around 2am, I took a quick break from studying. I checked my Facebook. On my news feed, I saw a YouTube link – a cover of Usher’s “DJ Got Us Fallin’ In Love” by Her Bright Skies. Thinking that it might be a rad version just like most of the songs in the Punk Goes… series, I didn’t hesitate to click it. My reaction after just a few seconds of the video: OH MY GOD!!!

(Note: This is the new link because the previous one was deleted)

THIS VERSION IS JUST FREAKIN AMAZING. I don’t remember how many times I clicked the replay button. I think I broke it. Loljk. But seriously, I just couldn’t stop watching it. I just stopped when I realized that I need to finish what I was doing and get some sleep because I still have class at 9:40am.

I always go home after lunch (around 12noon-1pm) because my next class starts at 2:40pm. And guess what was the first thing I did? I turned on my laptop and watched the same music video like n times. Haha. I just can’t get enough of it. I mean, their version is just A+ and every single band member is actually handsome! I think it’s kind of a rare thing because usually there’s only like 1 or 2 band members who stand out in terms of facial features. But this band… Oh gosh. Every single one of them is just so attractive.  And I would just like to say that the bassist somehow reminded me of Christofer Drew and Trace Cyrus. Lol.

After a while, I tried to research on the band’s other songs through YouTube. To be honest, their music (or at least the few songs I’ve heard so far) is a bit hardcore for me. Just a little bit. But then, I wanted to give this band a chance because I’m already in love with their cover, plus I’m kinda attracted to the band dudes, so yeah. Haha. I can’t believe I actually tried open up my ears. I mean, if we are talking about just a regular band, I would have stopped listening to the song after like a minute or less. I did NOT do the same for this band. I haven’t absorbed their music YET but I’m getting there. Don’t call me a ~fake~ fan because I’m just starting.

Another significant thing about my discovery about this band is that they actually eased this weird kind of pain that I was feeling. Remember the best concert ever from last month, LIV5? Yes, I am definitely not yet over it. But I’m not talking about the entire LIV5 though. I’m talking about how I saw and met The Ready Set. I don’t know. I feel some kind of a mixture of happiness and sadness like whenever I see photos of Jordan or see his tweets or something. I thank God for making it possible for me to meet him and see the rest of the crew. But most of the time I just can’t help but daydream about what could have been a perfect encounter with them when they were here in Manila. Hmm. I’m sure this is not Post-Concert Depression, rather something similar. But then when I discovered Her Bright Skies, I was like OMG I think this is gonna be my new favorite band, and then, I don’t know why but 95% of that pain was gone. Call me crazy or weird or whatever, but the band and their music actually cured me. I totally didn’t expect this. I’m really thankful to Future Idiots for sharing that video on Facebook and of course with the band Her Bright Skies.

And btw, just a while ago, I tried to watch their other music videos again. Guess what? I’m starting to like their other songs for real! And then after a while, I checked out their other songs from their new EP DJ Got Us Fallin’ In Love.  The first track was their cover which is my new favorite song. The rest of the tracks are acoustic. Track 2 is titled Sold Our Souls (to Rock & Roll).  EARGASM. This song is amazing. I shall continue to listen to their other songs in a while.

Sorry The Ready Set, I still love you but I really have to change my wallpaper now.

Blog Title inspired by the song DJ Got Us Fallin’ In Love – Usher
About fangirldiariesbythea

Not your ordinary fangirl.

Leave a Reply

