Temporary Bliss

After school, I went home at once. At the ground floor of our condo, there is a Smash Project poster posted by the elevators. It has been posted for days now. I asked the guards if I can have it later since the concert is tonight. They said yes then I thanked them. Yay! So I went to our unit to eat and fix my stuff then suddenly the doorbell rang. I thought it was my concert buddy for the night, but then it was one of the guards. He gave the poster to my mom. Yay!

When Pat, my concert buddy for tonight, arrived, she was wearing a personalized Smash shirt, and she also gave me one! Another Yay! Then we rode a taxi on the way to Araneta Coliseum. This is so cool because this is actually the first time that I’m going to a concert with a classmate.

When we arrived, I bought a Gen Ad ticket for one of my friends.  Why? Well, I’ve been seeing A LOT of tweets and posts about how people wanted to go to this concert but they don’t have enough money. I felt some kind of pain because I have some friends who really really really want to go but can’t. And since, I still have quite a lot from my birthday money, my heart just told me to share. I felt so restless until I got that ticket on my hands.

After that, I met up with my SHG friends, while Pat is in line. I claimed my signed Symphony Soldier from Che, and then paid her. Then Kai asked me why I am not wearing a dress. Haha. I missed them so much. It felt like yesterday we were just at Intercon. Lol. To be honest, I didn’t know we were going to be that close since we all just started as Facebook/Twitter friends. After a short chat, some hugs, I gave Sage’s ticket to Kai then I went back in line with Pat.

The gates were finally opened. But then, I don’t know why but we had to wait for so long outside the main venue. When Pat and I entered, we tried to look for the star stickers but then all we found were hidden garbage. Hahaha. We tried asking the guards and staff and they were like, “Ah, kaya pala nag-uunahan kanina.” So maybe we were let in late.

I thought the show is supposed to start on time, 7PM, since 9 bands will be performing and it’s a Thursday. But it started at 8pm. Typecast, Urbandub, Chicosci, One Buck Short (from Malaysia), and Slapshock opened the show with 2-3 songs each. To be honest, I got a headache from Chicosci, and a bit from Slapshock. Yeah I’m not really a fan of screamo, although I’m familiar with (and I kinda like) Slapshock’s “Cariño Brutal”. I only enjoyed during the set of Urbandub (because of “First of Summer”) and One Buck Short. Although it’s my first time to hear it, I really like the first song the OBS played, and oh the rock version of Katy Perry’s “Last Friday Night” is so cooool. Haha.

Finally, The Cab took the stage.

Alexander de Leon

Joey Thunder

Alex Marshall

(photos by: Ed Clinton Go – Dayly Entertainment)

Some girls in our section (Upper Box A, center-right) rushed to the right barricade. Pat and I followed, but we transferred to the left barricade since no one was still there. It was so cool that we were able to get nearer. Haha. At first, there was just me and Pat in that area, but then some other fangirls joined us. It was awesome ‘cause we were all jumping and singing along together. I totally enjoyed The Cab’s set. I remember how girls are screaming louder whenever Alex Marshall is being shown on the screen. Lol. But I’m a bit disappointed because the cameramen didn’t put enough attention on Joey Thunder. Alex de Leon talked about how a lot of fans, who came to see them at the hotel, requested for them to play “Vegas Skies”, and so they did! I think they just kinda inserted it into the setlist since they only played it until the first chorus. But still, yay! Sorry for saying this but I was a bit, uhm, I’m not sure how you call this – I guess something like disappointed, annoyed, or something like that – with Alex de Leon’s speech. I’m not sure why. Maybe ‘cause those words seemed a bit fake to me. He was saying stuff like, “I’m gonna marry a girl from the Philippines”, “Wouldn’t it be cool if we just cancel everything else and just play here in the Philippines?” or something like that, those kind of stuff. While everybody was screaming, I was like “WEHHH”. I still love him though. And I just can’t help but compare it to the speech of Travis Clark (We The Kings) during their LIV3 show in which I really felt his sincerity. Anyway, I enjoyed The Cab’s set so much that I actually didn’t notice that they didn’t play “Endlessly”. I only realized it after the show. And, I’m really glad that they played “Living Louder”, one of the most inspiring songs I’ve ever heard.

Cobra Starship then took the stage.

(credits to the owner of this photo)

To be honest, their performance is wayyy over my expectations. They are so damn good!!! Last month, I thought no band would perform better than Forever The Sickest Kids, but then there was Cobra Starship.

(photos by Ed Clinton Go – Dayly Entertainment)

Despite being sick, Gabe Saporta (who missed the CD signing before the show) showed great energy. He was dancing, jumping around, playing with the mic stand and the wires, and stuff. Everything was perfect. But then there goes Gabe’s white pants. Hahaha. His pants kinda gave up. And by that I meant, his pants had a hole near the crotch area. LOL =)) But then, he “doesn’t give a fuck” about it. Also, Gabe is sometimes referred to as the “President of the Philippines” by his fans. I really don’t know the reason behind it since I’m just a new fan. And then he actually talked about it (Days before the show he also tweeted @CobraCrewManila that he can’t wait to see his presidential office. LOL). He mentioned that he was elected as president back in 2010, and that the first law or bill that he’s gonna implement is that everyone should rip their fucking pants every night. Lol I just can’t stop laughing.

(photos by: Dayly Entertainment & Manila Concert Scene)

Oh, and the chemistry between Gabe & VickyT ♥ ♥ ♥ I have no words. I really admire Victoria Asher – the way she dresses and the way she performs. Cobra’s set was just so fun I mean party partyyyyyy and they are just amazing. I’ve learned to love them even more after watching them. Oh, and Gabe mentioned that Manila is the last stop for their tour 🙂

(photos by: Ed Clinton Go – Dayly Entertainment)

It was so tiring but so so fun. During the short break (after Cobra’s set, and also The Cab’s), Pat and I just sat on the floor. We didn’t go back to our real seats because we want to hold on to our spot. And we didn’t really mind doing the Indian seat over there. Lol. And then Chris Carrabba (of Dashboard Confessional) finally came out.

I don’t know why but his bandmates were not with him, so his whole set was acoustic (I also read that he was alone in Australia too). I’m not really a fan (but I DON’T hate him okay) so I just sat almost the entire set. Well, I stood up at first when he came out but then I eventually sat, and stood up again during like the last 3 songs.

One thing I really liked about this set is that, since it is acoustic, you can clearly hear the crowd singing along. And even though Chris was alone, his performance was awesome. My favorite part of his set was when he played Stolen. Other than the fact that it’s the only song that I really like, there were some parts during the song that he let the crowd sing, and it was just b e a u t i f u l. Chris even said that it sounded so good and that it’s one of the happiest nights ever or something like that.

(photos by: Ed Clinton Go – Dayly Entertainment)

It was already midnight and there’s still one more band to perform, The Used. I don’t really listen to them, and I’m NOT saying anything against them okay. I went to the show for The Cab & Cobra Starship. The show was held on a Thursday night. Pat and I still have to go to school the next day, so we decided to leave the venue right after Chris Carrabba performed.

Oh, and btw, here’s a a really good article I found online: http://lifestyle.inquirer.net/39363/musical-monster It talks about the top 7 memorable moments of the show 🙂

Thank you to the producers, organizers, and sponsors of the show! And Thank you Lord for another wonderful night!

 

Blog Title inspired by the song Temporary Bliss – by The Cab

About fangirldiariesbythea

Not your ordinary fangirl.

Leave a Reply

