Follow The Freeway, Break The Routine

This day I did something EPIC.
So, I joined these contests Miles for Miley & Wacky for Miley, both of which the grand winners will win Meet & Greet passes for Miley Cyrus.

(photo from Astroplus’ FB album)

Miles for Miley
The mechanics of the first contest is that the person who gathers the most number of points (based on their Miley Cyrus/Hannah Montana collection) wins.

(some items are not included in the photo)

When I first heard about this contest a few days before, I thought I had a chance. But when this day came, I realized that I don’t. I was in state of shock when I saw my competitors. I only brought 2 huge paper bags to the venue, while the other little girls have like 2-4 gigantic luggage. That’s just WOW. 

Wacky for Miley
This contest changed my life.
First of all, I really didn’t know what to expect. I thought they were only gonna take a picture of us then pick the best one from all 3 divisions. So, an hour or two after they took a picture of me, one of the organizers called me and said that I’m one of the finalists! And so, I went back to the venue. There, I met for the first my online friend, Luiza Artillero! 
At that time, we were the only teenager contestants at the room, all the others are little girls. Then we were able to chat for a while until one of the organizers came in and told us some instructions. I totally freaked out because I didn’t know that we’re suppose to go on stage and do all those posing and Q&A and stuff! I got so nervous because I’m the kind of girl who doesn’t do all those posing and stuff, and I don’t really do public speaking. On a normal occasion, I would have backed out, but then again, I was desperate to meet Miley Cyrus. She’s like my favorite artist of all time (I would love to elaborate but then it will take too long. lol)

So, we rehearsed and rehearsed until the show is about to start. And then backstage, I was still a little nervous (especially about the Q&A) so I talked to one of the organizers. I was like, “Ate, hindi naman po mahirap yung itatanong nila diba?” and she told me that the question is, “Why do you love Miley Cyrus?” After that, I started thinking about what to say. And as I am currently taking my SPEECOM class in school, the answer that I have thought of is kinda long . When the show started, every contestant who came onstage before me answered the question in one to two sentences only! So I did my best to shorten my answer, although it is still kind of long, but it was still cool though lol. I wasn’t that confident so I kinda messed up the posing. People said it was too fast. Oh well 🙂

After that, we all went down the stage to give way to the special performances by 1:43 and Myrus(?). While they were performing, my new friends and I took pictures with each other and had some chit-chats. It was so cool, because we just met each other that day but I feel like I’ve known them for a long time already! And then we were called backstage again for the announcement of the winners.
Unfortunately, I didn’t win the Meet & Greet pass. To be honest, I was kind of disappointed at first. But if I look at the event in a different perspective, I felt like a champion. Seriously.

First of all, I was able to step out of my comfort zone. I was able to do something I thought I could or would never do in my whole life.
Second, I met some cool people who share same interests as mine… friends that I’ve wished to have ever since the fangirl spirit inside of me has awakened.
This amazing and wonderful experience is totally unforgettable. I will remember this for the rest of my life.

I would like to thank my parents & my brother for all their effort and support. Also, I would like to thank ASTROPLUS for making this event happen and giving me the time of my life. And of course, GOD, for everything, especially the courage he has given me to face my own fear and the crowd.

*with Kristen Medina

*with Luiza Artillero

*with Little Hannah Montana

*with the girl who Can’t Be Tamed

*with Cassandra Salandanan

*with Agatha

*with Katty Lominoque – an online friend I also met for the first time!

Blog Title inspired by the song: More Than Alive – by The Ready Set

About Thea Gertrude

Fangirl who loves to travel

Leave a Reply

